As is the case with most traffic violations, a DUI conviction carries the risk of increasing your insurance premiums. Because DUI is considered such a serious infraction, if convicted you may find yourself with rapidly increasing premiums over the next 5 years, in some cases up to 300% of what you had previously been paying. In the worst case, your insurance company may choose to cancel your policy entirely, or to choose not to renew your policy once it expires.
While you may seek out coverage from other insurance providers, your DUI and the fact that your previous insurance was cancelled by the carrier will paint you as a potentially risk candidate for coverage and most companies will assess higher premiums. For many individuals convicted of a DUI, the skyrocketing insurance premiums become too great to continue insurance coverage. However, if you allow your car insurance coverage to lapse in Florida, the DMV will automatically suspend your driver’s license, restricting your ability to drive and seriously inconveniencing you. If you are cited for driving with a suspended driver’s license, the result can be very serious penalties and a further negatively impacted driving record.
After you have received a conviction of DUI, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended. In order to have your driver’s license reinstated, you will be forced to request an FR-44 form from your insurance provider. This form details the limits of your policy and demonstrates continued financial responsibility for your car insurance. The form also stipulates that your carrier must notify your DMV in the event that your car insurance changes in any way, is cancelled or terminated, or lapses for any reason.
Your request for this form automatically notifies your provider of your conviction and will cause them to reevaluate your policy and premiums, taking into account your new, higher risk status.
If your current car insurance policy does not meet the minimum requirements set out by the state of Florida in the FR-44 liability limits, you will be forced to increase your policies coverage at a high cost to yourself. Currently, the FR-44 liability limits in Florida require that the driver have bodily liability insurance amounting to $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence and $50,000 property damage. These financial requirements are ten times greater than those levied on drivers who have not been convicted of a DUI.
Posted in: DUI