Florida statute 562.111 prohibits anyone under the age of 21 from possessing alcoholic beverages. If you are under the age of 18, a ticket of this nature is a criminal offense that will appear on your criminal record. Your parent or the person who provided you the alcohol can also be cited or arrested for providing the alcohol to you.
Florida statute 856.015 prohibits “house parties.” House parties are social gatherings at a residence or condo or even a hotel room where minors are getting together to drink. Under this statute it is a criminal offense to have a party where you know minors are drinking, or where you should know minors are drinking. Again, both the juvenile and the adult can be ticketed.
Both of these crimes are second degree misdemeanors punishable by 60 days in the county jail and a $500 fine for a first offense. A second offense is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by one year in jail and a $1000 fine.
Minors can’t be placed in jail, so they usually face probation for this offense or a steep fine.
Possession of alcohol by a minor results in a 6 month driver’s license suspension whether or not they were driving when they possessed the alcohol.
If you or your child have been arrested in the Orlando area for an alcohol violation, consult an attorney before accepting any consequence offered by the State. There are often unforeseen consequences such as raises in insurance rates, and sometimes eviction. Don’t give up your rights without a fight!
Call the dedicated attorneys at Finebloom & Haenel. We can discuss all of your options and help you to obtain the best outcome possible for your situation. Our experienced attorneys are standing by to help you 24/7 by calling 407-218-6277.