If you have been arrested in the Orlando area for a violation of Florida’s marijuana charges under Florida Statute 893.13, you will need an attorney to represent your interests. The attorneys at Finebloom & Haenel can provide that representation.
- Florida statute 893.13(6)(a) states that possession of marijuana is a felony if the amount in your possession is over 20 grams. Felony Possession of Marijuana is a third degree felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a $5000 fine.
- If the amount of marijuana is under 20 grams it is governed by Florida Statute 893.13(6)(b). This is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in the county jail and a $1000 fine.
There is no medical marijuana in Florida and even if you hold a valid prescription from another state, the prescription will not be recognized by law enforcement here in Florida.
If you are adjudicated guilty of possession of marijuana, whether it is a felony or a misdemeanor, your license will be suspended for a period of two years. In some cases you will be required to take a substance abuse class and any recommended follow up counseling before you are able to reinstate the suspension.
Although a marijuana charge may not seem like a big deal, it can have a severe impact on your life. If you are convicted of a felony possession charge, you can lose your right to vote and possess a firearm. A drug conviction can affect your housing, student loans and may even cost you your job. If you are in nursing school or applying for a position in the health care field, this charge cann prevent your admission or employment. Protect your rights!!
Call Finebloom and Haenel today at 407-218-6277. We are available 24/7 to discuss any possible defenses you may have.[/raw]