If your child has been arrested for a weapons violation in the Orlando area, the law office of Finebloom & Haenel may be able to help you!
In Florida there are several types of weapons violation your child can be accused of:
- Florida Statute 790.01 – Carrying concealed weapons. This law makes it illegal to hide a weapon on your person.
- Florida Statute 790.10 – Improper exhibition of dangerous weapons or firearms. This law makes it a crime to carry or show a weapon in a rude, careless, angry, or threatening manner, not in necessary self-defense.
- Florida Statute 790.115 – Possessing or discharging weapons or firearms at a school-sponsored event or on school property prohibited; penalties; exceptions. This law makes it a crime to carry or show a weapon, except a common pocket knife, in a rude, careless, angry, or threatening manner, not in necessary self-defense at a school or school activity.
- Florida Statute 790.15 – Discharging firearm in public. This law makes it a crime to knowingly discharge a firearm in any public place or on the right-of-way of any paved public road, highway, or street or to knowingly discharge any firearm over the right-of-way of any paved public road, highway, or street or over any occupied premises.
- Florida Statute 790.151 – This law makes it a crime to use a firearm while under the influence of alcoholic beverages, chemical substances, or controlled substances.
- Florida Statute 790.19 – Shooting into or throwing deadly missiles into dwellings, public or private buildings, occupied or not occupied; vessels, aircraft, buses, railroad cars, streetcars, or other vehicles. This means you can’t shoot into a building or car, and you can’t throw anything, like a rock or a bottle, into a building or car. This is true even if the car or the building is empty.
- Florida Statute 790.22 – Use of BB guns, air or gas-operated guns, or electric weapons or devices by minor under 16 prohibited. If you do not have parental supervision, and you are under 16, you can’t have a weapon on your person.
PARENTS! You can be held responsible if your child violates the law. In some cases it is a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a $5000 fine.
If you are a minor and you violate these laws, you may have to serve a minimum of 3 days in a juvenile detention facility and you may be forced to perform, t a MINIMUM, 100 community service hours. In addition your driver’s license may be suspended for at least one year.
Weapons violations, especially if they involve a school setting, can be a big deal. They can lead to expulsion from school and discharge from sport teams and other extracurricular activities. Many colleges find weapons chages to be serious as well and may deny admission or financial aid.
A simple matter can become complicated very quickly. At the law offices of Finebloom & Haenel we can help you navigate and understand the system. Our attorneys are knowledgeable and helpful. We pride ourselves on our excellent relation both in the courtroom and with our clients. Don’t wait!!! Call the law office of Finebloom & Haenel today at 407-218-6277 to discuss your options.